Personal Data

Name:             Ulrik Gether

Born:              1963.07.27 in Aalborg, Denmark.

Position:         Professor of Neuropharmacology, Head of Department



1990:              Doctor of Medicine, University of Copenhagen (UCPH).

2000:              Dr. Med. Sc., UCPH. Thesis published as review in Endocrine Rev. (cited 979 times)


Appointments and Training

2017-:             Professor of Neuropharmacology, Head of Department, Dep. of Neuroscience, UCPH

2015-2017       Professor of Neuropharmacology, Section Head, Department of Neuroscience and Pharmacology, UCPH, Denmark

2001-2015       Professor of Neuropharmacology, Department of Neuroscience and Pharmacology, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, UCPH, Denmark

1996-2001:      Ole Rømer Associate Research Professor, Division of Cellular and Molecular Physiology, Department of Medical Physiology, UCPH, Denmark

1993-1996:      Howard Hughes Postdoctoral Fellow, Stanford University Medical School, California, U.S.A. (laboratory of Nobel Laureate, Prof. Brian Kobilka)

1991-1993:      Research Fellow, Lab. of Mol. Endocrinology, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, Denmark

1990:              Internship at Department of Medicine, Hvidovre Hospital, Copenhagen, Denmark

1985-1990:      Student in Dr. Thue W. Schwartz's laboratory, Laboratory of Molecular Endocrinology, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, Denmark


Selected Awards and Honors

1993:           Fulbright Senior Scholarship

1998:           Anna Bochardt’s Memorial Award

1998:           Scientific Honorary Medal, Danish Society for Theoretical and Applied Therapy

2002:           Elected Member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters

2012:           Recipient of ’Kirsten og Freddy Johansens Lægevidenskabelige Forskerpris 2012’

2015:           Japan Society for the Promotion of Science - Invitation Fellowship (invited 15 days trip with visit to six universities and research institutes)

2017:           Recipient of the Order of the Dannebrog from her Majesty the Queen of Denmark

2018:           Recipient of ”HN Prisen 2018” (Familien Hede Nielsens Fond).


Selected Positions of Trust and Editorial Work

1996-:         Ad hoc reviewer of manuscripts for Nature, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Structural and Molecular Biology, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Communication, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences U.S.A. J. Neuroscience etc.

1999-:        Numerous evaluation committees (PhDs, Drs. of Medical Sciences, Professorships) at Univ. of Copenhagen, Aarhus Univ., Karolinska, Oslo Univ., Linköping Univ.)

2000-2006:   Board member, Danish Society for Pharmacology and Toxicology

2003-:         Executive Committee Member, ‘Basic and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology’

2006-:         Editorial Board Member, ‘Molecular Pharmacology’

2006-2010:   Elected as Vice chair and Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on ‘Membrane Transport Proteins in 2008 and 2010, respectively

2008:           Chairman of AERES Evaluation Committee responsible for review of and site-visit at CNRS/INSERM laboratory at Universite Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris

2008-2011:   Associate Editor ‘Pharmacology and Therapeutics’

2012-:          Editorial Board, ‘Journal of Biological Chemistry’

2013-2018:   Independent Research Fund Denmark | Medical Sciences (Danmarks Frie Forskningsfond, Rådet for Sundhed og Sygdom). Vice Chair: 2015-17, Chair: 2017-18.

2015-:2016   Member of Program Committee for FENS (Federation of European Neuroscience Societies) Forum 2016, July 2016, Copenhagen


Selected Other Scientific and Academic Activities

1993-:            Invited speaker at ~80 international scientific meetings. Recent examples include:

  • - Dopamine 2020, May 18-21, 2020, Montreal, Canada

-       Winter Conference on Brain Research, Jan 28-Feb 2, 2019, Snowmass, Colorado

-       3rd Central European Biomedical Congress (CEBC), Krakow, Poland, September 15-18, 2018 (plenary lecture)

-       Inaugural Conference of the International Transmembrane Transporter Society, Vienna, September 18-21, 2018

-       Gordon Research Conference on Membrane Transport Proteins, Grand Summit Hotel at Sunday River, USA, June 10-15, 2018 (invited discussion leader)

-       ASPET 18th Annual Meeting, Nancy Zahniser Memorial Symposium, San Diego, April 21-25, 2018

-       10th SFB35 Symposium on Transporters, Vienna, September 5-8, 2017

-       ISN Brain in Flux Satellite Meeting, Maintenon, France, August 25-28, 2017

-       BioMedical Transporters, Lausanne, Switzerland, August 6-10, 2017

-       Dopamine 2016, Vienna, Austria, September 5-8, 2016

-       Gordon Research Seminar and Conference on Membrane Transport Proteins, Il Ciocco, Italy, June 11-17, 2016 (key note speaker and invited speaker)

-       Neuroscience Day, Aarhus University, May 4, 2016 (key note speaker)

-       American College of Neuropsychopharmacology, Hollywood, Florida, Dec 6-10, 2015

-       ISN Brain in Flux Satellite Meeting, Cairns, Australia, August 20-23, 2015

-       Nordic Neuroscience 2015, Trondheim, Norway, June 10-12, 2015

-       81st Annual Congress of the German Society for Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, Kiel, Germany, March 10-12, 2015

1992-:          >60 guest lectures at universities and pharmaceutical companies

1999-2016:  Partner in program project funded by the National Institute of Drugs Abuse under the NIH, U.S.A. (collaborators at Columbia, Vanderbilt and Cornell Universities)

2002-:          Ad hoc reviewer of grants for Israeli Science Foundation, National Science Foundation, U.S.A., Austrian Science Foundation, NIH and Human Frontiers Science Program

2004:           Co-organizer of Benzon Symposium No. 51 entitled: ‘Neurotransmitter transporters: Basal function and drug targets’.

2013:           Co-organizer of Benzon Symposium No. 61 entitled: ‘Membrane proteins: structure, function and dynamics’, August 19-22 2013

2018:           Co-organizer of “GPCR Pharmacology: The Next Generation”, Oct 31-Nov 2, The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters Copenhagen


Leadership, Research Administration and Larger Grants

1996-:         In charge of lab now counting 21 people (3 Assistant Professors, 3 post docs, 7 PhD students, 1 RA, 5 Master’s students and 2 techs). Supported by Independent Research Fund Denmark, Lundbeck Foundation, EU and Novo Nordisk Foundation.

2004-2009:   Director of ‘Center for Pharmacogenomics’ DKK 25 M from Danish Research Councils

2008-2013:   PI, UCPH Program of Excellence (‘Stjerneprogram’) on ‘Biomolecular Scaffolding of Neurotransmitter Receptors and Transporters’ (DKK 25 M)

2008-2013:   Co-PI (one of four) on UNIK Center of Excellence grant entitled ‘Synthetic Biology’ and awarded DKK 120 M from 2009-2014 (Director Prof. B. Lindberg Møller).

2010-2015:   Director of ‘Lundbeck Foundation Center for Biomembranes in Nanomedicine’ (together with Dr. Dimitrios Stamou) awarded DKK 34 M from 2010-2015.

2013-2017:   PI, UCPH KU2016 Program of Excellence ‘Attention to Dopamine…’, - DKK 19 M

2017-2020:   PI for "Larger biomedical Project", Lundbeck Foundation, DKK 10 M

2019-2022:   PI for thematic grant “What causes Brain Disease", Lundbeckfonden, DKK 10 M


Selected Teaching and Supervision

1996-:          Since 1996 main supervisor for 30 post docs, 32 PhD student and 37 MS students.

1996- :        Pregraduate teaching in physiology and pharmacology (medical/human biology students),  including >1000 hours of lectures/class teaching.