Martin Lauritzen


1988: Dr.Med., University of Copenhagen, DK

1978: MD, University of Copenhagen, DK


2007-: Professor of Translational Neurobiology, University of Copenhagen, DK

1998-: Professor of Clinical Neurophysiology, University of Copenhagen, DK

1994-: Head and Consultant, Department of Clinical Neurophysiology, Rigshospitalet, DK

Professional affiliations and activities

2016-: International Scientific Advisory Board Member for IBS Center for Neuroscience Imaging Research, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea

2014-: Director of the Lundbeck Foundation Research Initiative on Brain Barriers and Drug Delivery, University of Copenhagen, DK

2010-2016: Member of the Research Strategy Faculty Committee, University of Copenhagen, DK

2009-2018: Editor-in-chief, Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow & Metabolism

2009-2014: Member of Transatlantic Network of Excellence funded by Fondation Leducq

2009-: Member of Board of Directors, Center for Healthy Aging, University of Copenhagen, DK

2009-: International Scientific Advisory Board Member for Max-Planck Institute for Cognitive Neuroscience, Leipzig, Germany

2008-2014: International Scientific Advisory Board Member, Max-Planck Institute for Neurology, Cologne, Germany

2008-2010: Editorial Board, Neuroimage 

2007: Member of Board of Directors, Committee for Neurology and Clinical Neurophysiology Copenhagen, Capital region of Denmark

2006-2009: Editorial Board, Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow & Metabolism

2004 & 2006: Chair: Gordon Research Conference on ‘Brain Energy Metabolism and Blood Flow’

2004: Visiting Professor, Humboldt University, Germany

2003-2007: Chairman of Strategic Brain Research Program at University of Copenhagen, DK

2003-: Founding member of the steering committee for COSBID, a large multi-centre study of the importance of brain injury depolarization for the outcome of patients with trauma, haemorrhage and stroke (

2000-2005: Director, International Society for Cerebral Blood Flow & Metabolism

2000-2005: Editorial Board, Clinical Neurophysiology

1998: Review Board for grant applications numerous times for Bi-national Science Foundation (USA – Israel), Third World Academy of Science; Grant Academy of Czech Republic; The Migraine Trust, UK; Welcome Foundation, UK; Suisse Research Grant Agency; Medical Research Council, UK; Royal Society, UK; German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft); Canadian, Butch and Belgian funding agencies.

1998: Member/Chair for Committees assessing 12 full professorships at University of Copenhagen, DK

1998: Member of Committees or panels recommending professor- or directorships at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston Texas; University of Rochester, Rochester, NY; University of Maryland, MD; Harvard University, Massachusetts; UCSD, San Diego; Max-Planck Institute for the Max-Planck Society; University of Calgary, Canada

Honors and awards

2017: Member of Academia Europaea

2016: Niels A. Lassen Prize

2004: Humboldt Research Award in Medicine (Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung, Germany).

1992: Arnold Friedman Distinguished Clinician/Researcher Award (American Headache Association)