Ole Kiehn

Ole Kiehn


Born: September 30 1958. Citizenship: Danish/Swedish.

A. Education

1985: MD from University of Copenhagen, Denmark.
1990: D.Sci. from University of Copenhagen, Denmark.
2002: Docent, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden.

B. Current Position

2017-: Professor in Integrative Neuroscience, Department of Neuroscience, University of Copenhagen, Denmark. 
2004-: Professor in Neuroscience, Department of Neuroscience, Karolinska Insitute (KI), Sweden.                     

C. Previous positions

2001-2004: Group-leader - via international ‘Elite-recruitment’ program at Karolinska Institute, Sweden.
1997-2001: Associate Professor, Department of Physiology, Copenhagen.
1995-2000: Hallas Møller Research Fellow Department of Physiology, Copenhagen.
1991-1995: Group Leader Institute of Neurophysiology, Copenhagen.
1989-1990: Postdoc, Sect. of Neurobiol. and Behavior Cornell University, USA.
1988-1989: Senior Research Associate, Institute of Neurophysiology, Copenhagen.
1985-1988: Junior Research Associate; Institute of Neurophysiology, Copenhagen.
1983-1985: Research Assistant Institute of Neurophysiology, Copenhagen.

D. Awards and honors

2019-: Lundbeck Foundation’s Professorship award
2017-: Novo Nordic Foundation Laureate program
2016-: European Research Council advanced grant (second award)
2014: Member of EMBO
2013: Member of Academia Europea
2012: Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences 
2010: Member of the The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
2011-2016: Research Professorship: Torsten and Ragnar Söderberg’s Professorship from theRoyal Swedish Academy of Science
2011-2016: European Research Council advanced grant
2010-2015: 5 Year Distinguished Professor Award Karolinska Institute
2004: Recipient of international Schellenberg Prize in spinal cord research
2001-2006: 5 year recruitment via ‘Elite-recruitment’ program at Karolinska Institute
1999-2001: PI for Human Frontier Science Program grant
2001-2010: PI on R01 NIH grant to Kiehn lab
1995: Recipient of Hallas Møller Research Fellowship (5 year salary award from Novo Foundation – one/year in biomedicine)
1990: Recipient of Weimann Research Fellowship (5 year salary award)

E. Commissions of trust

2019: Co-editor in chief of Current Opinion in Neurobiology
2017: Member of Steering Committee Department of Neuroscience UCPH
2017: SAB Dandrite
2016: Vice Chair Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine
2014-2019: Elected member of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine
2011-2013: Affiliated member of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine
2008-2028: Elected Member of Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institute
2013: Evaluation panel consolidator ERC grant
2012: Evaluation panel Söderberg’s foundation
2010: Memberof the Scientific Evaluation Committee for ETN in Zurich
2008 & 2014: Scientific Evaluation Committee for Molecular Physiology of the Brain, Göttingen, Germany
2006-2010: Member of the steering board of Stockholm Brain Institute
2011-2015, 2015-: Co-director for StratNeuro at Karolinska Institute
2003-2011: Deputy Chair at the Department of Neuroscience, Karolinska Institute
2011-2012: Chair of Program Committee for Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS)
2011-2013: Member of Executive committee for FENS
2007-2009: Member of program committee for Society for Neuroscience USA 
2009: Member of Program Committee for FENS

F. Supervision

>10 PhD students  
>25 Postdocs 
Guest professors: 
(Harris-Warrick/Bruce Johnson, Cornell University; Goulding, Salk Institute; Glover, Oslo University; Del Negro William and Mary, US).

G. Membership Editorial Boards and review jobs

Member of editorial boards:Current Opinion of Neurobiology (2008-), Neural Development (2007-2019), Brain Research Bulletin (2000-), Faculty of 1000 (2004-2009). Journal of Neurophysiology (1996-2012).
Reviewing editor: E-Life (2012-2018), EJN (2015-).
Chief Editor: Current Opinion in Neurobiology (2019-) 
Associate Editor: Frontiers in Neuroscience (2011-2016).
Section Editor: Current Opinion of Neurobiology, Motor, 2004 and 2015.

H. Selected list of invited talks (last 10 years)

Plenary lectures/Distinguished lectures: FEPS-SIF, Bologna, Italy (2019).  Society for Neuroscience, Special Lecture 2017. Plenary Lecture Nordic Neuroscience Meeting, Stockholm 2017. Nichelson Lecture, Rockefeller USA (2016). Riken, Outstanding Research Lecture (2015). Discovery Lecture Karolinska Institutet (2014)/2018. Distinguished Lecture Toronto University – the Tater and Turnbull Lecture (2014). Oxford University, Department of Anatomy and Physiology (2014). Kavli Lecture, Trondheim (2014). Plenary Lecture Winter Conference in Neural Systems (2014). Distinguished Lecture, EPFL Luzanne (2013). Distinguished Lecture, Max Planck Munich (2013). Plenary lecture – motor conference Salk (2013). Plenary Lecture Neuroethology Meeting Baltimore (2012). Distinguished lecture, Department of Neuroscience and Pharmacology Copenhagen (2012). Talk a Fridtjov Nansen 150 year birthday symposium – Norwegian Academy of Sciences (2011). Plenary Lecture,Physiological Society Meeting, St Andrews (2010). Plenary Lecture Scandinavian Physiological Society (2007).   Plenary lectureGerman Zoological Society, Bayreuth, Germany (2005). Gail Memorial Talk, Miami Project to Cure Paralysis International, Miami, USA (2005). 

I. Grants last 10 years

1. 2020-2026: Lundbeck Foundation’s Professorship Grant. 32 MDKK. 
2. 2019-2023: Lundbeck Foundation Grant. 10 MDKK.  
3. 2016-2021: European Research Council – advanced research grant Integrating Locomotion). €2.5 M.
4. 2017-2023: Novo Nordic Foundation Laureate Program. 40 MDKK. 
5. 2015-2018: The Swedish Medical Research Council. 6 MSEK (top grant – max amount on all top grants were 1.5 MSEK/year- 25% less than the preceding years).
6. 2011-2014: The Swedish Medical Research Council. 6 MSEK (top grant).
7. 2009-2011: The Swedish Medical Research Council. 5.05 MSEK (top grant).
8. 2014-2016: Hjärnfonden (The Swedish Brian Foundation). 1 MSEK.
9. 2014-2019: NIH R01 NS090919-01. $2.7 M (direct cost). Collaborative group grant between Ilya Rybak (Drexel University), Kiehn and Martyn Goulding (Salk). Kiehn’s share is about $1 M.
10. 2011-2013: Postdoc salary from StratNeuro to Kiehn lab. 1.4 MSEK.
11. 2011-2016: European Research Council – advanced research grant (NeuronsInMotion). €2.5 M.
12. 2011-2013: Schellenberg foundation (Switzerland). 0.5 M Swiss Franc. Kiehn PI – collaborative grant with Hans Hultborn and Cecilia Lundberg.
13. 2011-2016: Torsten and Ragnar Söderbergs endowed professorship. 10 MSEK.
14. 2010-2015: 5 year distinguished professorship from Karolinska Institute. 3.5 MSEK.
15. 2006-2010/11: NIH grant (5R01NS040795)(this was an extension of pervious NIH grant to Kiehn – I did not reply in 2011). $1.125 M.

ID: 173691709